Freedom Fighters

Home/Freedom Fighters

India has seen many freedom fighters who laid their lives for India’s independence. A brief introduction to few of the freedom fighters who fought every odd to get independence to India from British rulers are included in this website. Before British ruled India, many other countries such as Portuguese, Dutch. It is British, who ruled India for more than 80 years. During the British rule, Kings of various dynasties showed their opposition and have fought many battles to end British rule in India. Battles like Battle of Plassey, Anglo-Mysore war, Anglo-Maratha war, Anglo-Sikh war etc. It was the quit India movement that gained a large number supporters who unitedly fought against British to make them leave India and finally India was declared Independent in the year 1947.

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1890 - 20 January 1988) was a Pashtun political and spiritual leader known for his non-violent opposition to British Rule in India. A lifelong pacifist, a devout Muslim, and a close friend of Mahatma Gandhi, he was also known as Badshah Khan ,Fakhr-e-Afghan(pride of Afghans) and Sarhaddi Gandhi("Frontier Gandhi"). Abdul Ghaffar [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:34:05+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Bal Gangadhar Tilak (23 July 1856 –1 August 1920), was an Indian nationalist, teacher, social reformer and independence fighter who was the first popular leader of the Indian Independence Movement. The British colonial authorities derogatorily called the great leader as "Father of the Indian unrest". He was also conferred with the honorary title of Lokmanya, [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:34:45+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Sarojini Naidu

Sarojini Naidu (born as Sarojini Chattopadhyaya) (February 13, 1879, Hyderabad – March 2, 1949, Lucknow), also known by the sobriquet The Nightingale of India was a child prodigy, freedom fighter, and poet. Naidu was the first Indian woman to become the President of the Indian National Congress and the first woman to become the Governor [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:35:26+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (2 October 1869 – 30 January 1948) was the pre-eminent political and ideological leader of India during the Indian independence movement. He pioneered satyagraha. This is defined as resistance to tyranny through mass civil disobedience, a philosophy firmly founded upon ahimsa, or total nonviolence. This concept helped India to gain independence, and [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:50:20+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Lal Bahadur Srivastava Shastri (2 October 1904 - 11 January 1966) was the second Prime Minister of the Republic of India and a significant figure in the Indian independence movement. Lal Bahadur Shastri was born in 1905 in Prayag. His father Sharada Prasad, a schoolteacher at the local school, passed away when Lal Bahadur was [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:49:03+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Subhas Chandra Bose

[wptab name='Home'] Subhash Chandra Bose is one of the most dynamic leaders of India's struggle of independence. He is popularly known as Netaji. He was born in Cuttack, in Orissa on January 23, 1897 to Janaki Nath Bose and Prabhavati Devi. His father was a famous lawyer and mother a religious lady. Among the fourteen [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:42:16+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments

Chandrasekhar Azad

Chandrashekhar Sitaram Tiwari, better known as Chandrasekhar Azad (July 23, 1906, Bhavra – February 27, 1931, Allahabad) is one of the most important Indian revolutionaries, and is considered the mentor of Bhagat Singh. Early Life Chandra Shekhar Azad was born on July 23,1906 in village Bhavra in Jhabua district of Madhya Pradesh. His parents were [...]

By |2017-12-08T01:43:53+05:30October 7th, 2014|Freedom Fighters|0 Comments