Karnataka (Karunadu)

Home/States/Karnataka (Karunadu)
Karnataka (Karunadu) 2016-06-10T08:01:34+00:00

Karnataka, the land of the Kannadigas, is a state in South West India. The State was formed on 1st November 1973 and originally known as the State of Mysore, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973.

Karnataka is the eighth largest Indian state by area, the ninth largest by population. Kannada is the official and most widely spoken language. The highest point in Karnataka is the Mullayanagiri hills in Chickmagalur district which has an altitude of 1,929 metres (6,329 ft). Agumbe in the Shivamogga district receives the second highest annual rainfall in India. In the field of super-specialty health care, Karnataka’s private sector competes with the best in the world. Kuvempu, the renowned Kannada poet and writer who wrote Jaya Bharata Jananiya Tanujate, the state anthem. Writers in the Kannada language have received the most number of Jnanpith awards in India. It has the second highest number of nationally protected monuments in India. The waterfalls of Karnataka and Kudremukh National Park are listed as must-see places and among the “1001 Natural Wonders of the World”.

Karnataka Govt. www.karnataka.gov.in
Karnataka Tourism www.karnatakatourism.org