There are more than twenty five languages that people in India speak. Among them, Hindi is used by most of the people. Since there are more number of states in India where people use a separate one in most of the states as a medium of communication, making India a unique country. To name a few, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Marathi, Gujarati, Bengali, Assamese, Odia, Punjabi, Sindhi and many more. Few states among all others, use their own official languages for all government and non-governmental purposes within the states. Here is a list of them with little summary about the same.


Meitei /ˈməɪtəɪ/[5] (also Manipuri[6][7] /mənᵻˈpʊri/, Meithei, Meetei, Meiteilon) is the predominant language and lingua franca in the southeastern Himalayan state of Manipur, in northeastern India. It is the official language in government offices. Meitei is also spoken in the Indian states of Assam and Tripura, and in Bangladesh and Burma (now Myanmar). It is currently classified as a vulnerable language by UNESCO.[8] Meitei is a Tibeto-Burman language whose exact classification remains unclear. It has lexical resemblances to Kuki and Tangkhul Naga.[9] [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:14:39+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Manipuri


Maithili (/ˈmaɪtᵻli/;[3] Maithilī) is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in the Mithila region which is today mainly situated in northern and eastern Bihar of India and a few districts of the Nepal Terai. It is one of the largest languages in India and the second largest language in Nepal. Less commonly, it was written with a Maithili variant of Kaithi, a script used to transcribe other neighboring languages such as Bhojpuri, Magahi, and Awadhi.[4] [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:14:57+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Maithili


Konkani[note 4] (Kōṅkaṇī) is an Indo-Aryan language belonging to the Indo-European family of languages and is spoken along the South western coast of India. It is one of the 22 scheduled languages mentioned in the 8th schedule of the Indian Constitution[9] and the official language of the Indian state of Goa. The first Konkani inscription is dated 1187 A.D.[10] It is a minority [...]

By | 2017-11-26T19:40:08+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Konkani


Kashmiri (/kæʃˈmɪəri/)[6] (कॉशुर, کأشُر), or Koshur, is a language from the Dardic subgroup[7] of the Indo-Aryan languages and it is spoken primarily in the Kashmir Valley and Chenab valley of Jammu and Kashmir.[8][9][10] There are approximately 5,527,698 speakers throughout India, according to the Census of 2001.[11] According to the 1998 Census there were 132,450 Kashmiri speakers in Pakistan Administered Kashmir (PaK).[12] According to Professor Khawaja Abdul Rehman the Kashmiri language, [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:15:12+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Kashmiri


Kannada (/ˈkɑːnədə, ˈkæn-/;[6][7] ಕನ್ನಡ kannaḍa [ˈkʌnːəɖɑː]), also known as Canarese or Kanarese /kænəˈriːz/,[8] is a Dravidian languagespoken predominantly by Kannada people in India, mainly in the state of Karnataka (ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ), and by linguistic minorities in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Kerala, and Goa. The language has roughly 40 million native speakers[9] who are called Kannadigas (Kannadigaru), and a total of 50.8 million speakers according to a 2001 census.[10] It is one of the scheduled languages of India and the [...]

By | 2017-11-26T19:35:04+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Kannada


Hindi (Devanagari: हिन्दी, IAST: Hindī), or Modern Standard Hindi (Devanagari: मानक हिन्दी, IAST: Mānak Hindī) is a standardised and Sanskritised register[7] of the Hindustani language. Hindi is an Indo-Germanic or Indo-European language. It is descended from Sanskrit and is considered part of the New Indo-Aryan subgroup. However, it was also influenced, especially in vocabulary, by various other languages including Persian, Arabic, Turkish, Portuguese, and English. [8] Along with the English language, [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:15:26+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Hindi


Gujarati (/ɡʊdʒəˈrɑːti/;[5] ગુજરાતી gujarātī [ɡudʒəˈɾɑːt̪i]) is an Indo-Aryan language native to the Indian state of Gujarat. It is part of the greater Indo-European language family. Gujarati is descended from Old Gujarati (circa 1100–1500 AD). In India, it is the official language in the state of Gujarat, as well as an official language in the union territories of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Gujarati is the language of the Gujjars, who had ruled Rajputana and Punjab. According to [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:07:28+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Gujarati


Dogri (डोगरी or ڈوگرى) is an Indo-Aryan language spoken by about five million people[3] in India and Pakistan, chiefly in the Jammu region of Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh, but also in northern Punjab, other parts of Jammu and Kashmir, and elsewhere.[4] Dogri speakers are called Dogras, and the Dogri-speaking region is called Duggar.[5] Although formerly treated as a Punjabi dialect, Dogri is now considered to be a member of the Western Pahari group of [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:03:11+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Dogri


Bodo (बर' [bɔɽo]), or Mech, is the Sino-Tibetan language spoken primarily by the Bodo people of North East India, Nepal and Bengal. It is official language of the Bodoland Autonomous region and co-official language of the Indian state of Assam. It is also one of the 22 scheduled languages that is given a special constitutional status in India. Since 1963, the Bodo language has been written using the Devanagari script. It was formerly written using Latin and Assamese [...]

By | 2017-11-26T20:02:00+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Bodo


Bengali also known by its endonym Bangla , is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in the Indian Subcontinent. It is the national and official language of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, and the official language of some eastern and north-eastern states of the Republic of India, including West Bengal, Tripura, Assam (Barak Valley) and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. It is also one of the 22 scheduled languages of India. With over [...]

By | 2017-11-26T19:48:06+00:00 June 6th, 2016|Languages|Comments Off on Bengali